Thursday Evening Training Paddles

 The club is planning on adding a series of sea kayak, skills based activities to the training calendar over the summer months. The sessions will take place from local beaches Thursday evenings through to the end of daylight saving. The attached programme lists the dates, locations and activities, and the relevant club skill level required for each location/activity. The activities will be led by David Welch.

You will require your own “sit-in” sea kayak and equipment, or make arrangements to hire from the club. Please bring suitable paddling clothing and warm clothes to change into after. Getting wet may be part of the activity… Please aim to be at the beach by six and ready to get on the water by six thirty.

Refer to the Club’s website for skill level and equipment information, http://www.nelsonkayakers.co.nz/sea-kayaking/

If you are interested in joining this group of paddlers, or have any questions, please let David know by email: davidjwelch58@gmail.com. He will collate a list of interested paddlers and can advise any further information on the day, such as change of location or cancellation.

Paddling with and learning from other kayakers is a great way to improve your own skill and confidence!

 

Date Location High Tide Nelson Main Activity (but not limited to) Club Skill Level Required
         
Thu, 5 Dec 19 Tahunanui 17:04 H  3.3 Social Paddle Beginner/All
Thu, 12 Dec 19 Tahunanui 16:44 L  0.7 Balancing Skills, in and out of the kayak Yellow – Novice
Thu, 19 Dec 19 Tahunanui 16:10 H  3.7 Choppy Water Boat Handling Yellow – Novice
         
Thu, 9 Jan 20 Rabbit Island 21:47 H  3.8 Small Surf/Riding waves Orange – Novice+
Thu, 16 Jan 20 Tahunanui 21:05 L  0.8 Paddle Skills/Technique Yellow – Novice
Thu, 23 Jan 20 Cable Bay 22:01 H  3.7 Rock Hopping Orange – Novice+
Thu, 30 Jan 20 Tahunanui 20:02 L  1.0 Rescues, self and assisted Yellow – Novice
         
Mon, 3 Feb 20   17:12 H  3.3 Anniversary Day  
Thu, 6 Feb 20   20:27 H  3.5 Waitangi Day  
Thu, 13 Feb 20 Tahunanui 19:54 L  0.5 Paddle Skills/Technique Yellow – Novice
Thu, 20 Feb 20 Cable Bay 20:55 H  3.4 Rock Hopping Orange – Novice+
Thu, 27 Feb 20 Tahunanui 18:57 L  0.8 Rescues, self and assisted Yellow – Novice
         
Thu, 5 Mar 20 Tahunanui 18:47 H  3.3 Choppy Water Boat Handling Yellow – Novice
Thu, 12 Mar 20 Cable Bay 18:48 L  0.3 Rock Hopping Orange – Novice+
Thu, 19 Mar 20 Rabbit Island 19:30 H  3.2 Small Surf/Riding waves Orange – Novice+
Thu, 26 Mar 20 Tahunanui 17:58 L  0.7 Social Paddle Beginner/All
         
Sun, 5 Apr 20     Daylight Saving Ends  
Notes:
Location may change with the weather/sea conditions – it may be better at another location
Activity will be tailored to suit the group
FacebookMore...